Individuals who are convicted of intoxication manslaughter in the state of Texas potentially face some very serious penalties. Under Texas law, intoxication manslaughter is categorized as a Second-Degree felony and if you convicted, you may face the following:
- Confinement – Under Texas law, individuals convicted on a charge of intoxication manslaughter may face a prison term of between two and twenty years.
- Fine – Texas law also allows individuals convicted of intoxication manslaughter to be fined up to $10,000 for their actions.
- Community Service – You may also be required to perform community service if convicted of intoxication manslaughter. Under Texas law, you can receive anywhere from 240 to 800 hours of community service.
- Drug/Alcohol Treatment – You may also be required to participate in drug and/or alcohol rehabilitation, either during your incarceration or following your release.
- Ignition Interlock Device – An ignition interlock device may also be installed on your vehicle, which prevents the car from starting unless you provide a clean breath sample.
- Driver’s License Suspension – The Texas Department of Public Safety can suspend your driver’s license for anywhere from 180 days to two years if you face an intoxication manslaughter conviction.
It’s important to keep in mind that if you are convicted of intoxication manslaughter in conjunction with other serious charges, such as assault or manslaughter with a deadly weapon, you may face additional penalties beyond those listed above.
These penalties also do not include the potential for civil lawsuits brought by the victims and/or their families. Under Texas law, you can be sued for the injury or wrongful death of someone else if you acted recklessly or negligently in causing it.